Life is Fine Tour in Brisbane – Paul Kelly

Brisbane’s iconic riverstage surrounded by ancient fig trees and palms, and the mighty Brisbane River was the perfect setting for Paul Kelly (PK) to kick off his Life is Fine tour on November 11.

Proving once again that PK never goes out of style, the great man showcased a number of hits from his ARIA chart-topping album Life is Fine, supported by the captivating Vika and Linda Bull, and his nephew Dan.

Paul Kelly BrisbaneThe excitement in the air was palpable as PK joined the stage and greeted the crowd with Rising Moon. “My whole heart jumped out of my chest” was aptly chanted amongst the crowd, in anticipation of the masterfully crafted set that was to follow.

Vika Bull’s ‘My Man’s got a Cold’ has been raved about since the album launch and experiencing the song live, it’s easy to see why. You feel the punchy lyrics, drums, and piano deep in your gut.

Vika’s presence on stage makes for the perfect counterpart to Paul Kelly’s renowned storytelling genius.

Die-hard fans rejoiced when PK announced it was ‘starting to feel like Christmas’. The crowd’s energy rose as he started to list of the names of those invited to his Christmas lunch, Dan, Stella, Angus, Frank, Dolly and Rita.

‘How to make Gravy’ was up next.  The uniquely Australian Christmas tune which poignantly reminded the audience of the complexities of the holiday season.

The words left Brisbane hoping they’ll have plenty of gravy on their table this December with the Life is Fine album playing in the backdrop.

Words and image by David Bowden

Details: Paul Kelly | Life is Fine Tour | Next up:

Sunday 12 November – Regional Botanic Gardens, Coffs Harbour
Tuesday 14 November – Regional Entertainment Centre, Tamworth
Wednesday 15 November – Entertainment Centre, Newcastle
Friday 17 November – Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne *
Saturday 18 November – MONA Main Stage & Lawns, Hobart
Sunday 19 November – Opera House Forecourt, Sydney ^
Monday 20 November – Opera House Forecourt, Sydney ^ NEW SHOW!
Wednesday 22 November – Entertainment Centre Theatre, Adelaide
Thursday 23 November – Entertainment Centre Theatre, Adelaide NEW SHOW!
Saturday 25 November – Kings Park & Botanic Garden, Perth #
Sunday 26 November – Kings Park & Botanic Garden, Perth # NEW SHOW!
Wednesday 29 November – Isaac Theatre Royal, Christchurch
Thursday 30 November – Opera House, Wellington
Friday 1 December – Civic Theatre, Auckland
Saturday 16 December – Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.